Here:
Home
>
Classroom
>
Technology
>
Guides
Guides
Sub-Topics
Ad Rates
Ergonomics
History of the Computer
Internet Service Providers
Internet for Beginners
Macintosh
News
Virus Protection
Web Page Design
Web Site Providers
Windows
Windows 95
Windows 98
Windows XP
Y2K
Also Try
- Copyright
- Getting Internet
- Integrating Technology
Lists
- Intranet in Businesses
- Search Engine (Search.com)
- Tips to Improve Your Computer and Web Surfing (ZDNet)
Materials
- Browser Helper (WebTurbo)
Given a 5-star rating by ZDNet, WebTurbo provides an outline of the contents of a site, including descriptions of sites.
- Browser Tune-up (Submit It)
Provides a critique of your browser.
- Browser Tune-up (WebMonkey)
- Computer Tune-up Online (PC Pitstop)
Provides a diagnostic and even (with permission) some tune-up activity for your computer while you are online. Includes finding your connection speed, looking up DNS from the IP address and visa versa, and more. 11-00
- Dictionary of Terms
- Email Address for You - Permanent (iName)
Provides you with a permanent email address. Free for one kind and a charge for another kind.
News
- Artificial Intelligence - News and Highlights (About.com - Susac)
Describes the emerging issues and news in artificial intelligence. 3-01
- Avoiding Tech Hassles (MSNBC Technology)
"After more than five years of writing about the numerous pitfalls that plague technology consumers, one can't help but pick up some pointers. So here's my compendium of tips to help you avoid persistent tech problems and maybe even save a few bucks, too." 03-06
Papers
- 3Com and U.S. Robotics Site for 56k Modems (3Com.com)
- Advanced Search Tips (Smith)
Provides assistance with advanced searches using seven different Web libraries or "search engines."
- Browser Tips (C-Net)
Provides tips on gaining the full benefits of a browser.
- Buying a Home Computer (Dave)
- Challenge Grants for Technology in Education (Department of Education)
Provides announcements of grants. 10-09
- Challenge Grants for Technology in Education - 1999 Comptetition
Provides Guidelines, Budget pages, and Title page in HTML format. Also provides an Adobe version.
- Faster Windows 98 (TechWeb.com)
Provides 10 steps to making Windows 98 run faster. 9-03
- Gaining More Secure Connections Online (SmallBusinessComputing.com)
Provides a guide to safer online connections. 11-04
- Hardware - Tips (ZDNet)
Provides tips on improving the productivity of your hardware.
- Hoaxes on the Internet (HoaxBusters)
Provides a listing and description of hoaxes, as well as a search engine and a history of hoaxes. Many of the hoaxes state that if you open a particular email that your hard disk will be destroyed when, in fact, no such email program is known to exist. 7-01
- Internet and Computer Technology Definitions (PCWebopedia.com)
Provides a dictionary and search engine. 11-04
- Java - What's New with Java (Sun)
Provides downloads and news. 2-00
- Nanotechnology (Merkle)
Includes links to sites that discuss very small devices, including future computers and processors.
- Performance - Bios Information (System Optimization Information)
Provides information about tuning up the Bios. WARNING - changing Bios settings can make your system inoperable.
- Performance - Guide to Improving PC Performance (System Optimization Information)
Provides information about tuning up the Bios, clock speed, and other information. WARNING - Changing some of these settings can make your system inoperable.
- Search Engines (Webber)
Provides numerous articles on selecting and using different search engine to find what you want using more advanced features and more refined searches.
- Survey of Users of the World Wide Web
- Technology Terms (TechWeb)
Provides searches for over 20,000 technology terms. 9-01
- Toolkit for Your Browser 2 (MSNBC)
- Utilities (Dr Download)
Provides downloads. 10-09
- World Wide Web Frequently Asked Questions 10-01
- Writing Books for the World Wide Web
Projects
- Address of Your Choice for Your Web Page (Bounce.to)
Purchase Resources
- Speed Enhancements for Internet Connections (Extremetech.com -Yequlalp)
Describes how to make speed increases by changing settings for dial-up and DSL connections. 5-02
Standards
- Technology Standards by State (EdStandards.org)
Provides standards by state.
|
Back to
Top

© 2010 EDI
and Dr. R. Jerry Adams
|