Here:
Home
>
Classroom
>
Technology
>
Guides
>
Web Page Design
Web Page Design
Also Try
- Copyright
- Internet for Beginners
- Lesson Plans in Technology
- Web Tools
Lesson Plans
- Building a School Web Site (The Jade Writers Group, Ltd. - Wigglebits)
Provides a series of tutorials covering most or all of the basic tasks in creating a Web site. For the beginner. 1-00
- SQL - MySQL Tutorial (Webmonkey - Merrall)
Provides three lessons to teach the basics of setting up and using MySQL, for databases on UNIX systems for Web pages. 2-00
- Utilities to Improve Web Sites (ZDNet)
Provides freeware and tips. 2-00
Lists
- Check Domain Names (Internic-Whois.com)
Check domain names and name ownerships with Internic, the nonprofit group responsible for helping with Internet standards. 10-04
- Check Domain Names (NetworkSolutions.com)
Check domain names and find out who owns which domain names. 3-04
- Check Domain Names (TheBigWhoIs.com)
Check domain names and name ownership with the Big Whois. 3-04
- Free Word Services (TheFreeDictionary.com)
Provides resources to stimulate visitors to seek more information.
- Popularity of Web Sites (Internet.com Corp - Sullivan)
Searchenginewatch provides sources for rating a website's popularity with search engines. 6-00
- Putting Information on the Web
- Top Web Search Engines (Top9.com)
Provides a listing of the top 99 most popular searches engines by number of unique visitors. 6-01.
- Top Web Sites (ZDNet.com)
Provides sources of the most popular Web sites. 5-01.
- Web Development (December Communications)
Provides processes, qualities, elements, and characterisitcs of good Web development.
- Web Development - Processes (December Communications)
Provides 6 steps to high quality Web page design and maintenance.
- Web Site Development Resources (Mindspring)
Provides a few page design links, color libraries and graphics links.
- Web Tools (Tripod)
Provides sources of Web development tools. 10-01
Materials
- -Links - Broken Link Analyzer (Xenu's Link Sleuth)
Provides a free downloadable program to analyze your Web links. 9-05
- Advertising Services (ValueClick.com)
Provides payment for the number of click throughs for ads. 5-00
- Calendar (K5n.us)
Provides a calendar that you can put on your Web site. 7-06
- Creating Web Pages (Spaces.Live.com)
Provides tools to create Web pages. 11-06
- Cursor With Stars (Girlstart)
Provides a cursor that has streaming stars, for use as an example. 2-00
- Free Stuff Page (The Free Site)
- Free and Easy Homepage Maker (TeachersNet)
- Free and Powerful Web Toolkit (ZDNet)
- GIF Optimizer (Adobe)
Helps to reduce the time necessary to download your graphic files. 6-01
- GIF Optimizer (GifWorks)
Helps to reduce the time necessary to download your graphic files. 6-01
- GIF Optimizer (MyImager.com)
Helps to reduce the time necessary to download your graphic files. 6-01
- GIF Optimizer (NetMechanic)
Helps to reduce the time necessary to download your graphic files. Also provides a tool, for under 10 dollars, that monitors your server and alerts you when it is down. 1-00
- Gif Optimizer (GifCruncher)
Reduces the size of GIF and JPEG (graphic) files so that they download faster. 1-00
- Introduction to HTML
With this tutorial, you can pick up the basics of the HyperText Markup Language (HTML) in a few short hours. Armed with that knowledge and access to a Web server, you can jump onto the bandwagon and put yourself on the Web."
- Java Scripts Library (WebMonkey)
Provides scripts for forms, interfaces (such as rollovers), extensions, DHTML, and more. 2-00
- Link Popularity (The PC Edge)
Lists the number of sites that link to a specified site. This is one of the key measures of popularity for rankings by search engines. 1-00
- Log Analyzers (TUCOWS)
Provides reviews of the best software. 2-00
- Log Statistics (WebLogExpert.com)
Provides freeware to give you statistics on visitors to your Web pages. The freeware version does not provide daily or monthly statistics. 9-02
- MediaWiki - Engine for Wikipedia (Wikipedia)
Provides a license to use the Wikipedia engine. 1-05
- Menus - Pull Down (The Menu Factory)
Provides code for making pull down menus or lists.
- Programming Scripts for Educators (Pfaff-Harris)
Provides CGI programs that can be used for an education Web site. 6-00
- Register Your Domain Name (Network Solutions)
Provides for registration of a domain name as the agent for InterNIC, the authority for registration of URLs. 10-01
- Register Your Domain Name in Canada (NamesInCanada.ca)
Provides for registration of a domain name in Canada. 3-01
- Search Engine - Yours (Vantage.net)
Provides a free search engine for your Web site. 5-00
- Software Reviews (TUCOWS)
Provides reviews of the best software, especially utilities.
- Spelling Checker Online (Teragram Corp)
Provides a spelling checker for Web pages or individual words, in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, and Italian. 6-00
- Templates for Web Pages (Web Templates)
Provides templates for frames, tables, scripts, pop-ups, rollovers, and more. Also includes many free graphics. 3-00
- Translation Tools (Foreignword.com)
Provides tools for translators, including dictionaries to support 58 languages, a language translation search engine, a translation engine, and a search for context. 6-00
- Web Page Design Resources (North Suburban Library System)
Provides resources for graphics and developing a Web page.
- Web Pages and Tools (Angelfire)
Provides free Web pages and templates. 5-00
- Web Pages and Tools (TeacherWeb.com)
Provides free Web pages for teachers to use for assignments and to share with parents. 7-00
News
- WebDeveloper
Provides guides for a variety of problems that webmasters encounter. 2-00
Papers
- -Building a Web Site from Start to Finish (PC Magazine)
- -Web Page Style Manual (Lynch and Horton)

- Acceptable Use Policies (Willard)
- Advanced Use of the World Wide Web (ICONnect)
Provides suggestions on applications with using the World Wide Web.
- Advertising - Women Lead Internet Charge (applesforhealth)
Women are leading the charge to the Internet and their growing online numbers are stimulating new competition for television viewing time, according to a semi-annual survey of American households. 03-31-00.
- Articles and Resources for Web Designers (WebReference)
Providesdozens of articles. 9-01
- Banner Advertising Effectiveness (applesforhealth)
Traditional wisdom holds that banner ads you see on Web sites are not really effective in selling products. But a new study challenges that assumption. 01-07-00.
- Cascading Style Sheets (CSSShark)
Provides links to resources for CSS. 11-01
- Creating Killer Web Sites
- Engine for Wikipedia (Wikipedia.org)
Describes different Wiki software. 1-05
- Google's Search Optimization Assistance (SearchGuild.com)
Provides guides on improving your ranking on a Web search engine. 1-05
- Google's Search Optimization Assistance - 11 Myths (SearchGuild.com - Palmer)
Provides 11 things to avoid when developing a Web site. 1-05
- How Search Engines Are Used (Pew Charitable Trusts)
Reports Patterns of Use of Search Engines. 7-02
- How to Publish on the Web
- Icons - Adding Icon Shortcuts (Flavicon.com)
- Icons - Adding Icon Shortcuts (Microsoft)
"For Internet Explorer 5, the required size of a shortcut icon is 16x16 pixels." 9-02
- Icons - Adding Icon Shortcuts (XoomHacker.com)
- Internet Backbone Assessment (NewEconomyIndex.org)
Lists the places in the U.S. with the strongest Internet backbone capacity. 03-06
- Internet Encyclopedia Search (Keynote Systems)
Provides technical information for persons creating Web pages. 10-00
- Internet Visitors Refuse to Pay (ComputerScope)
Provides results of a study that found that Internet users refuse to pay for access to sites that once were free. Instead, they usually find another service. 11-01.
- Language Character Sets Supported (W3.org)
Provides the character sets most commonly supported online. 8-02
- Legal Forms (C-Net)
Provides sample forms for legal documents that might be needed by a Web site builder. 9-01
- Mistakes in Page Design (Nielsen)
Provides useful tips on what not to do.
- Monitor Web Sites (NetMind)
Mind-It provides email notices when sites that you specify have been updated. 2-00
- PageRank Explained (IPRCOM.com)
Provides an explanation of Google's PageRank logic.
- Requests for Web Pages (WebCrawler)
Provides random lists of ongoing requests.
- Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) Guide (Wired Digital - Mulder)
Provides a preliminary guide for what SVG is expected to provide. 11-99
- Search Engine Criteria (Online Marketing Monitor)
Provides information about how top search engines operate. 3-00
- Server Comparison (Mecklermedia)
Provides a comparison of Web hosting servers. Editor's Note - Please see our comments under Web Hosting Reviews by Users. 9-01
- Server Information (Netcraft)
Provides information on the server when you provide the URL. 6-99
- Symbols and Special Characters (WebMonkey)
Provides the code for special characters, such as the copyright mark or a tilda over a letter. 2-00
- Top 50 Keywords or Phrases Used for Searching Lycos (Lycos)
Provides a list of the top word combinations used in searches on the Internet. 11-01
- Top Keywords (Top-Keywords.com)
Provides the top 200 keywords used on the Internet, not including "adult" language. 8-02
- WWW User Survey (GVU)
- Web Page Design (NetObjects - efuse.com)
Provides provides tips by topic. 8-00
- Web Site Development (ZDNet) 2-00
- Webmaster Advice (LinkExchange)
Provides suggestions to Webmasters from Webmasters.
- Webmaster Tools (Google.com)
Provides tools for Webmasters to improve their sites. 02-07
- XML Guide (Wired Digital - Greenspan)
Provides a preliminary guide for what XML coding provides. 11-99
Periodicals
- Internet Traffic Report - Global (Andover.Net)
Provides an index for Internet traffic globally.
- Internet Traffic Report - North America (Andover.Net)
Provides an index for Internet traffic, as well as times of day when traffic is heaviest and data losses are greatest.
Projects
- Advertising Agents (Sonar Network)
Provides services for banner ad publishers. 3-00
- Domain Name Issues (Network Solutions)
Provides form for online communication with Verisign (formerly Network Solutions), one of the company assigned with the USA responsibility for registration of domain names. 11-01
- Education Directory (Awesome Library)
Provides code to place the Awesome Library Directory on your Web site. The Awesome Library Directory has been rated most popular for "k-12 education" by over a dozen top search engines. 3-02
- Education Search Engine (Awesome Library)
Provides code to place the Awesome Library Search Engine on your Web site. This search engine searches the Awesome Library Web site, including only family-friendly resources. 11-01
- Finding Web Consultants (Guru.com)
Provides a matching service between organizations needing qualified professionals and professionals looking for projects.
- PageRank Checker (PRChecker.info)
Provides code to place the PageRank on your Web pages. 12-07
- PageRank Score (Top25Web.com)
Provides the PageRank score for up to 10 sites at a time. 12-07
- Rubrics Creator for Web Page Design (Rubistar)
Provides printable forms and selectable content for creating rubrics to evaluate the product. Requires signing up. 3-05
- Server Monitor (Openacs.org)
Sends you an email (free service) if your server cannot be reached and then again if it becomes reachable again. Uses the file "uptime.txt" to signal whether the server is available. 2-02
- Starting a Web Page (MySchoolOnline.com)
Provides an easy set of steps to get started quickly and cheaply. 12-01
- Web Page Development Tool (Pacific Bell)
Provides you with your own Web page and helps you construct it. Designed for teachers, students, and librarians. Called filamentality. 11-01
- Web Space for Teachers and Students (Tripod)
Hosts Web sites for teachers and students for free. 7-99
Purchase Resources
- AZCdotCom
- Advertising Monitor for Banner Ads (BurstMedia)
Provides banner ad placements and services to monitor click throughs. 3-00
- Advertising Monitor for Banner Ads (WebAdverts)
Provides scripts to monitor click throughs for banner ads. Shareware. 2-00
- DNS Protection (DNSMadeEasy.com)
Provides a pointer to alternative server when you have a failure on your server. (You must provide the alternative resource.) Allows 100% uptime by managing the DNS. This is a service for higher volume sites or sites that cannot afford to be "down" for several hours. 07-06.
- Domain Names and Other Internet Services (Awesome Library)
Provides sources of Internet services, such as Web addresses in languages other than English. (Awesome Library does not endorse the services, but provides them as examples.) 11-01
- Online Agent (SWREG.org)
Provides credit card processing services for software companies selling access to online programs. Awesome Library does not endorse this service but provides it as an example. 9-02
|
Back to
Top

-Copyright © 1996-2007 EDI
and Dr. R. Jerry Adams-
|