Here:
Home
>
Classroom
>
Technology
>
Guides
>
Internet for Beginners
Internet for Beginners
Also Try
- Lesson Plans in Technology
- Web Page Design
Lesson Plans
- -Begin Here - Search Tips (Awesome Library)
A starting point for the beginner in searching either the Awesome Library or the Web. 9-05
- Building a School Web Site (The Jade Writers Group, Ltd. - Wigglebits)
Provides a series of tutorials covering most or all of the basic tasks in creating a Web site. For the beginner. 1-00
- Librarians - Lessons for Librarians (Chamberlain)
Provides 30 lessons for librarians with little or no experience with the Internet. Useful for teachers and school administrators also.
- Surf School (ZDNet)
Provides most of the basics for the beginner.
Lists
- New User (IBM)
Provides 19 carefuly selected resources to help the beginner become familiar with the Internet.
Materials
- FTP - CuteFTP
Provides software to download or upload files using FTP.
- FTP - FTPPro (FTPPro.com)
Provides software to download or upload files using FTP. Allows moving entire directories at a time.
- FTP - WS_FTP Limited Edition (IpSwitch)
Provides software to download or upload files using FTP.
- Glossary of Internet Terms
Papers
- -Downloading Files (Awesome Library)
Provides guidance on how to download a file from the Internet.
- About The Internet 9-01
- Advanced Use of the World Wide Web (ICONnect)
Provides suggestions on applications with using the World Wide Web.
- Basics for Using the World Wide Web (ICONnect)
Provides a basic orientation to the tools of the World Wide Web.
- Connection Types (ICONnect)
Provides guidance on alternative types of services to connect to the Internet. Services include shell accounts, SLIP or PPP accounts, direct connections, and commercial online services.
- FTP or File Transfer Protocol (ICONnect)
Provides instructions on how to download files using FTP. Somewhat technical.
- Glossary and Bibliography (ICONnect)
Provides a selected bibliography and a short glossary of basic Internet terms.
- Help for Those New to Computers (ACW)
- How the Internet Works (Learn the Net - Michael Lerner Productions)
Provides simple and illustrated explanations of how email, news groups, search engines, forums, and other basic activities work. 10-00
- Internet Glossary of Terms (Netcom)
- Internet Guide for Teachers, Students, and Media Specialists (ICONNECT)
- Internet Infrastructure - How It Works (HowStuffWorks.com - Tyson)
Describes how the Internet is set up, in layman's language. 3-02
- Learn the Net
Provides articles to help you learn about the Internet. Divided into topics, such as e-mail, basics, conferencing, publishing, and more.
- Listservs (ICONnect)
Provides instructions on how to use various types of listservs.
- Telnet (ICONnect)
Provides instructions on making a Telnet connection to the Internet.
- URLs - How to Use (EZ-2-Use)
- Usenet and Newsgroups (ICONnect)
Provides instructions on how to use usenet and newsgroups. Use of usenet and newsgroups require adult supervision.
- Using the Web (webTeacher and Tech Corps)
Introduces the methods and tools of the Web. 8-00
- World Wide Web (ICONnect)
Provides a basic orientation to the World Wide Web, as well as intructions on the use of the Lynx browser.
Purchase Resources
- Listservs - Email Discussions (ListServ.com)
Provides services to support listservs, discussion groups, using email.
|
Back to
Top

-Copyright © 1996-2007 EDI
and Dr. R. Jerry Adams-
|