Here:
Home
>
Classroom
>
Technology
>
Guides
>
Virus Protection
Virus Protection
Go To
- Anti-Virus
Materials
- Virus Removal Software (BitDefender.com)
Free software removes some of the more widely distributed viruses. 6-02
- Virus Removal Tool for Klez (Symantec.com)
Provides free software to remove all known forms of the Klez virus. 7-02
News
- Electronic Frontier Foundation
Provides information for "protecting rights and promoting freedom in the electronic frontier." 5-00
- Goner Worm - Getting Rid of It (Symantec - Norton AntiVirus)
Describes a very dangerous and powerful program that attacks computers and provides instructions on getting rid of it. 11-01
- Virus Search (Symantec)
Provides information on all known computer viruses and virus hoaxes, using a search engine or a directory. One of the most comprehensive listings available anywhere.
Papers
- Code Red Worm (CNN - Sieberg)
Provides information on the 'Code Red worm infection. 7-01
- Code Red Worm and Christopher Klaus (CNN - Anderson)
Describes the Code Red worm and profiles Christopher Klaus, one of the top worm fighters. 7-01
- Email Security Checker (GFI.com)
Provides up to 10 tests to determine vulnerabilities to viruses in your email system. 6-02
- FBI-Paris Hilton Worm Year's Worst (MSNBC News)
"It looks like an e-mail from the FBI, or a note promising pictures of Paris Hilton -- but some anti-virus companies are now calling it the most widespread computer virus outbreak of the year."
"Sober-Y, the latest variation of a computer virus that was first released almost two years ago, surprised analysts Tuesday by gaining traction and rocketing millions of e-mails around the world." 11-05
- Gibe Worm Poses as Microsoft Update (ZDNet)
Describes a virus (really a worm) poses as an update for Microsoft. 3-02
- Gigger Worm - Getting Rid of It (ZDNet - Vamosi)
Describes a very dangerous and powerful program that attacks computers and provides instructions on getting rid of it. 11-01
- Goner Worm (CNN - Sieberg)
Describes a very dangerous and powerful program that attacks computers. 11-01
- Goner Worm - Getting Rid of It (McAfee.com)
Describes a very dangerous and powerful program that attacks computers and provides instructions on getting rid of it. 11-01
- Internet Scanner Review (ZDNet - PC Magazine)
Reviews an "intrusion detection system," designed to stop worms on networks and originally designed by Christopher Klaus, founder of Internet Security Systems (ISS). 7-01
- Latest Anti-Virus Information (IBM)
- Nigerian Money Transfer Fraud (Wikipedia.org)
"The Nigerian money transfer fraud, also known as the Nigeria scam or the 419 fraud after the relevant section of the Nigerian criminal code, is a fraudulent scheme to extract money from investors living in rich countries such as the US and Europe." 11-27-02
- Perrun Virus Attacks Pictures (PCMag.com)
"A new computer virus is the first ever to infect picture files, an anti-virus firm reported Thursday, making sharing family photos on the Internet a potentially dangerous activity." "The virus, dubbed Perrun, is not currently infecting computers but worries anti-virus experts because it is the first to cross from program infection into data files, long considered safe from malicious data." 6-02
- Sircam Worm (Symantec)
Provides information on the 'Sircam worm infection, as well as how to remove it. 7-01
- Thousands Get FBI Anti-Attack Software (applesforhealth)
The Internet community is joining the fight against the cyber-attacks in unprecedented numbers, the FBI told United Press International last week. 02-18-00.
- Virus Map (McAfee)
Provides a global map of where viruses have struck most often. 11-01
- Worm Evades Anti-Virus Software (CNN.com)
"The latest problem is called 'worm/MiMail.A,' also known as W32.Mimail.A@mm." "It's a mass-mailing Internet worm that started spreading late Friday afternoon, and according to Central Command, a computer security company, caught many computer systems administrators by surprise." 8-03
|
Back to
Top

-Copyright © 1996-2007 EDI
and Dr. R. Jerry Adams-
|